Saturday, September 23

Virat Kohli: ICC Cricketer Of The Year 2017.

Virat Kohli has been awarded as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (Cricketer of the Year) at the 2017 ICC Awards for his exceptional performances across all formats.

In the qualification period from September 21, 2016, to the end of 2017, Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including eight centuries and 1,818 ODI runs including seven centuries at 82.63.

virat kohli

Virat Kohli: ICC Cricketer

“It means a lot to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year,” he said. “I won that back in 2012 also but it’s the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honor for me. It is probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special.”

“Last time it was Ash [ Ravichandran Ashwin ] and this time I am getting it, so I’m really really honored and I’d like to thank the ICC for recognizing all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also who got the ICC champions trophy.”

The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy is a cricket trophy awarded annually by the International Cricket Council to its chosen world player of the year. It was first awarded in 2004 to Rahul Dravid. The trophy is named after former West Indies cricket captain Sir Garfield Sobers.

The recipient of the annual award is selected by an “academy” of 56 individuals, including the current national team captains of the Test-playing nations, members of the elite panel of ICC umpires and referees, and certain prominent former players and cricket correspondents.

Below showing  icc cricketer of the year list who have won it till now:

2004:     Rahul Dravid (IND)

2005:     Jacques Kallis (SA) & Andrew Flintoff (ENG)

2006:     Ricky Ponting (AUS)

2007:     Ricky Ponting (AUS)

2008:     Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WID)

2009:     Mitchell Johnson (AUS)

2010:     Sachin Tendulkar (IND)

2011:     Jonathon Trott (ENG) & Gerald Huang (AUS)

2012:     Kumar Sangakkara (SRL)

2013:     Michael Clarke (AUS) & Gerald Huang (AUS)

2014:     Mitchell Johnson (AUS)

2015:     Steven Smith (AUS)

2016:     Ravichandran Ashwin (IND)

2017:     Virat Kohli (IND)

%d bloggers like this: