Tuesday, March 28

North-East Elections: Counting of votes will continue till noon

Counting of votes is being done in three states of North-East Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya. The counting process started at 8 o’clock in the morning and by the afternoon the parties are likely to win and lose in the elections.

Tripura was voted on February 18 while voting in Meghalaya and Nagaland was done on February 27. In the North East Elections, there was a large number of polling in all three states at voting times. In Tripura, 92 percent of the people used their votes; the same was registered in Nagaland and 75 percent in Meghalaya and 67 percent in Meghalaya. The three states have 60 separate Assembly seats, which had voted for 59 seats.


source: India Today

Collision in NDP and NPF in the Elections-

The Nagaland People’s Front (NDPP) and the Naga People’s Front in Nagaland have a huge collision in the NDP. In this election, BJP has tied up with NDPP and has maintained good relations with the 15-year-old ally, NPF.

The main candidates in Nagaland are names of Nephew Rio (NDPP), Biplab Deb (BJP), TR Jailiang (NPF), Yantathongo Patton (BJP), KL Chisse (BJP) and Kevkhap Thari (Congress).

BJP will be able to beat the Congress?

In Meghalaya, the Congress Party has been in power for the past 10 years but this time it has got tough competition from NPP and BJP. Here the Congress has fielded 59 candidates while BJP is contesting in 47 seats. This is the first time in Meghalaya that the current Chief Minister is contesting on one and two seats.

Tripura’s Interesting fight

The battle in Tripura is most interesting. Here is the rule of Left for the last 25 years, which this time the BJP has given a tough fight.

292 candidates in the NorthEast states, 23 women are also trying their luck. In Tripura, BJP is contesting 51 seats where its alliance is with the Indigenous Peoples Party of Tripura (IPFT). The Congress party is contesting 59 seats and Trinamool Congress is contesting 24 seats. While CPIM has fielded 57 candidates, each candidate of CPI, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) is contesting the elections.

%d bloggers like this: