Tuesday, January 25

List Of National Sports Awards Of India

Six National Awards are given to encourage youth towards sports in India. This award is given every year by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. This national award is usually given to the veteran of India on 29 August. The ceremony is held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, and The President gives the sportspersons awards. Since 2004, the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award has been given with other sports awards. Today we will know in detail about the list of National Sports Awards.

National Sports Awards

National Sports Awards

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

It is also known as the Maka trophy. This trophy was introduced in 1956-57. The Rolling Trophy is awarded to the first overall performing universities in an inter-university tournament. A replica of the trophy is also given to the university that regains it. In addition, a cash prize of Rs 1500000 is given to the university. Cash prizes of Rs 7.5 lakh are given to the university, securing second place. And Rs 4.5 lakh to the third place holder in the competition.

National Sports Awards
source: insights.com

Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement in sports

It was formed in the year 2002. The cash prize in this is Rs 1000000. These awards are given to honour the sportspersons who have excelled in their sports. At the same time, those players continue to contribute to the game’s progress even after retiring from active sports life. A maximum of three players are honoured with this award every year.

National Sports Awards
source: voiceaajkal.com

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna: National Sports Awards

It was established in 1991-1992. The first name of this Khel Ratna was Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Players are given the “most outstanding performance by a player” over four years. In this award, players are also given a cash prize of Rs 2500000 and medals.

Dhyanchand Khel Ratna
source: Dnaindia.com

Arjuna Award

It was started in 1961. In this award, a cash prize of Rs 1500000 is given to the players. The player must have performed well in the last 4 years at the international level with excellence and consistency. Also, performed well in the year in which the award is recommended. In addition, he should have leadership, sportsmanship, and a sense of discipline. Virender Sehwag was awarded the Arjuna Award by the Government of India in 2002.

Arjun Award
source: kindpng.com

Dronacharya Award: National Sports Awards

It was started in 1985. It is awarded to eminent persons who have successfully coached players and teams. And also enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions. Also, it carries a cash prize of Rs 1500000 and a bronze statue of Guru Dronacharya.

Dronacharya Award
source: ispark.com

Rastriya Khel Protsahan Purskar

It was started in 2009. It has been awarded for “playing a visible role in sports promotion and development” over the last three years. Organizations (both private and public) and individuals have been involved in this award.

Rastriya Khel Protsahan Purskar
source: examboard.com