Wednesday, December 6

ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup: Manjot Karla’s Century lead India to 8 Wicket Win

A magnificent century by Manjot Karla helped India to win their fourth Under-19 World Cup title. Backed up by brilliant bowling performances by Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel, Ankul Roy, and Kamlesh Nagarkoti. India put on an impressive show in the final against Australia. The final was played at Bay Oval in Mount Manunganui on Saturday.

ICC U-19 Champions world cup


See, How Manoj Karla won ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup?

Even with a short delay due to rain, the Rahul Dravid coached team did not lose their pace. Shubham Gill, P.P Shaw and H.M Desai with help from Manjot on the other end of the wicket, slowly chipped away the 217 total the Australians set for them.

[the_ad id=”3627″]

Australia who won the toss and decided to bat was all out for 216 in 47.2 overs. Ishan Porel quickly dispatched the Australian openers back to the pavilion. Skipper Jonathan Merlo was the only batsman to score 76, The Australian side fell like a house of cards.

The Indian bowling side did a great job, with Porel, Roy, Shiva Singh and Kamlesh taking two wickets each. Shiva Singh was the most economical bowler with a rate of 3.6. Manjot became the second batsman after Unmukt Chand to score a century. Powering India to become U-19 world champions for the fourth time.


India U-19: Prithvi Shaw (captain), Manjot Karla, Harvik Desai (wk), Shubham Gill, Riyang Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Anukul Roy, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel

[the_ad id=”3627″]

Australia U-19: Jaon Sangha (captain), Jack Edwards, Max Bryant, Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter J Holt(wk), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: