Tuesday, March 28

Civil Services Exam Or IAS exam By UPSC

CSE ( Civil Services Exam) also known as IAS Exam, is an exam conducted by the Central government. So, in this exam, the Government of India selects various officers of the Civil Services like IAS, IPS, IFS, etc. This exam is conducted every year by UPSC ( Union Public Service Commission). 

civil services exam


This Civil services exam is conducted in three levels. 

  • Preliminary Exam – There are two paper of multiple choices questions in UPSC Civil Service Prelims. Each paper carries 200 marks. The time allotted for each paper is 2 hours. Accordingly, the first paper consists of questions from General Studies which is divided into GS I to IV.  Moreover, the second paper is known as the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) which requires 33% marks to pass.  Only those candidates who qualify the prelims exam  will allow to sit on mains exam .
  • Mains exam- There are 2 qualifying papers and 7 papers in the main examination. In the first two compulsory papers, one is of any Indian language and the other is of English. In short, the Indian languages included in the exam are as per the languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution of India. All the 9 papers have answer writting type questions.  However, the question paper is set in Hindi and English only. It takes three hours for each paper. Similarly in prelims , candidates who score above the prescribed cut-off marks in Mains are called for Personality Test.
  • Interview/Personality Test – The personality test of the candidate is conducted by the members of the UPSC Board.  At last, candidates are asked questions on their hobbies, current affairs, general knowledge, status questions, etc. Also their personality traits are assessed. 


The candidate must be a citizen of India or PIO ( Person of Indian origin).  Besides this, candidates should have graduated in any subject.  Talking about the age, the age of the candidate should be between 21 to 32 years but there is an age relaxation of 3 to 5 years for ST, SC, and OBC. 


Syllabus for Prelims

  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demography, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
  • Basic General knowledge of environmental ecology, biodiversity, and climate change.
  • Current events of national and international importance
  • Interpersonal skills, including communication skills; Logical Reasoning and Analytical Ability Decision Making and Problem Solving General Mental Ability Basic Numeracy (numbers and their relationships, orders of magnitude, etc.)

Syllabus for mains

  • I General Studies- Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society.
  • II General Studies – Governance, Constitution, Politics, Social Justice and International Relations.   
  • III General Studies – Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security, and Disaster Management.
  • IV General Studies-  Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude.
  • Apart from this, an essay of 250 marks also has to be written. 

After qualifying

After successfully completing the exam of all three levels, the candidate is sent for training.  Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA) is taken for this training. Finally getting selected in the service a candidate is appointed to various posts within that service, 

There are 23 different civil services, the most popular services being the Indian Administrative Services (IAS), the Indian Police Service (IPS), the Indian Revenue Services (IRS), and also the Indian Foreign Services (IFS).


The validity of this exam ends after failing in one level exam.  For example, if a candidate gets rejected in the interview after qualifying the mains, he/she will have to start from the prelims again next year. 

To know more about the IAS exam 2021, one can visit the following official website of UPSC.


%d bloggers like this: